So what brings me out of retirement?

us

So, as life goes on and all that Jazz, I have found myself all up in the fabulous 49 and…… single   I’ve done the work, the healing and the recovery and some of it I have QUITE enjoyed, but I also know that I’m a relationship kinda person. I enjoy Blackmen, Lord knows i do, but I also enjoy the  process of relationships and that chance to develop something just between us as well. So here I sit.

I have been out the game for a minute and during that time, WHEW HAS IT CHANGED!!  I can’t make up or down of most of it, but I’m out here..a dinosaur in several ways, trying to get in where I fit in, lol

In my former life, I dated online – I dated exclusively from online.  I NEVER seem to meet Brothers out in the street like other sisters.  Never.  I started to think I had some kinda odor or something.  I decided that maybe it’s because I don’t ‘look’ or ‘act’ or ‘present’ a certain way and what I do know is that if you meet my personality then you usually like me.  Well as I’ve grown and what not, i wanted to try to meet brothers the old fashioned way.  I felt that online dating for me was a safe way to ‘back into’ relationships and I wanted to be bold, face forward and give em all I got.

Well we are a year later, a pretty robust social iife year later, a I’ve been to more than Dugans and JR Crickets year later, a I’ve done meet ups for Gods sake year later and I haven’t even been asked out for coffee.  *insert the Scooby Doo sound here*

Yes my taste have changed (will get into that later) and all that stuff, but come on. Then I realized that nowadays, folks are more online than ever.  So I contemplated and then a life event took place (and that picture) and it made me sit and ponder, what direction I wanted to go in.  I’ve seen the new sites and I’ve been curious so…..

Very quietly I put up a profile.  As I have navigated these last few days, I have combined all the convos I’ve had offline and seen thus far online from men and women who are out here trying to date and I just have a lot to say so I decided..

I’VE HAD A SERIES ON NATURAL HAIR AND MAKE UP ETC. WHY DON’T I TAKE YOU WITH ME ON THIS!

I mean since he’s not going to be randomly in your sub division and knock on your door while you wait, and though I know God loves you and me – he’s busy and your Boaz might already be out there, He didn’t say He was going to Fed ex him to you and I in no way shape or form have decided that ‘reconstituted virginity’ is the answer or that I don’t need or like the affection of a man – I’m about mines and getting out here, so why not get out here for all of us.

So I will begin my series tomorrow and get you up to speed. I’m five days in and A LOT has happened.

PSA:  ALOT OF THIS WILL BE HEAVILY TONGUE IN CHEEK – SO STAY OUT YOUR FEELINGS IF SOMETHING RINGS PERSONAL TO YOU – I AM NOT TALKING ABOUT YOU 

LOVE,

HARPER STEWART 

Author of Unfinished Business and Star of The Best Man

Leave a Reply

